Blastoff – The Pistons vs. The Grizzlies

Posted · 32 Comments

This is what Pistons fans have been waiting for since Detroit’s early departure in the playoffs last season.  Let’s leave the mess behind us and get to the good stuff.

Detroit is in Memphis to take on the Grizzles for their season opener tonight at 8pm.  You’re opening night linup is.

  • Rodney Stuckey
  • Rip Hamilton
  • Tayshaun Prince
  • Charlie Villanueva
  • Ben Wallace

Yes, Big Ben will be the Pistons starting center.

Tip off is at 8:00 PM and will be broadcast on FS Detroit with pregame festivites starting at 7PM.  Can’t watch live? Listen on the radio over at 9.71 The Ticket or follow the gamecast over at NBA.com.

I’m excited, so I’m sure you will get a few choice Tweets out of me during the game.

To an eventful and action packed season!  Leave em in the comments.

32 Responses to "Blastoff – The Pistons vs. The Grizzlies"
  1. The Fluidics says:

    Did you hear the Rip comments from Memphis this morning?
    http://dimemag.com/2009/10/rip-hamilton-tells-his-side-of-the-iversoncurry-story/

    He basically said that MC was a big time liar, lied to Rip, lied to AI, made promises he had no intention of keeping, and basically laying the blame for last season right where it belonged all along: Michael Curry. AI is Detroits goat.

    That out of the way, I’m really looking forward to tonight, damn shame Jonas Balboa and Apollo Day aren’t going to play, Jonas is going to be the dark horse this year.

  2. Amer ican Prince says:

    yeah flu i agree with what rip said too. Even though we didn’t really like Iverson coming here, we all knew Michael Curry was in way over his head and really couldn’t utilize the roster.

    That being said new year new coach new attitude, The Pistons will be undefeated tomorrow. They will have a 1-0 record.

    Let’s go Pistons.

  3. Richie says:

    I love the new look site, Nat. It would be nice to have Ausitn Daye available to night, but the Grizzlies probably wish they had Iverson available. I’ve been lookinjg forward to this season for a looong time. :)

  4. Lori says:

    Natalie, the site looks great! Congratulations on really nice work!

  5. Amber says:

    I know it’s early, but I’m excited, and the Pistons look decent! Well, at least they look better than last year. Rip and Prince started out well. It’s great to see big Ben! The only thing that could make this any better is a different PF. I’m still not impressed with Charlie.

  6. Amber says:

    Oh my goodness, I just saw teamwork from the Detroit Pistons. Oh my gosh. Really, my expectations are so low right now just about anything would impress me! But I’m impressed!!

  7. dave says:

    gordons shot looks good, wallace is playin D and gobblin up boards (and he hit a free throw!), and theres this guy, prince, hes aight

    • Amber says:

      FLUUUUUUUUU!!!!!!!! Look at our team, they’re playing well! It’s a miracle. Are you enjoying the game? How have you been?

  8. dave says:

    is cv a foul prone player?

  9. KleenGee says:

    Wallace is still awesome! Did you see that charge he took? Defense with finesse!!!!!!!! Best bargain buy of the summer

  10. The Fan says:

    The new skin to the sight looks sweet Natalie!!! Go Pistons!!!

  11. ski dp3 says:

    Rip and Ben are working well together. Glad to see Tayshaun getting good numbers.

    PS: A new chatroom would go great with this new theme ;) :P

  12. Working on the site…Chat is coming just trying to find the right one. Hard for me to monitor it so that’s the reason for the change. We look good dont we!

    • KleenGee says:

      YES! looking good! I hope that they look good against a better team. The bigs needed to do a better job against Gasol.

  13. a.k.a.seabass says:

    Ohhh Yeeaahhh!!! I love this new Pistons team. I know its just the Grizzlies, but they’re scoring at will and are lookin’ pretty good on defense. Looks like Chris Wilcox was the odd man out tonight, although he did pick up some garbage minutes. I think this team has tons of potential and should not be slept on. Oh, yeah. Nice job on the website, Natalie. GO PISTONS!!!

  14. Amber says:

    Thanks, Natalie! I like the new look of this site, very nice.

  15. Amber says:

    Welcome back, defense. I hope Rip isn’t injured too badly.

  16. Pawel says:

    website looks pretty awesome. I liked the game too but cmon guys, lets dont get carried away after 1st match.

  17. junior says:

    nat, y does the replies we put in to other people go underneath there comment where we cant read it? i tried clicking on it and you still cant get to it. just wondering. if u can fix it or if im just doing something wrong let me know.ty nat

  18. immynimmy says:

    gordon and hamilton were on FIRE…still worried about the defense and a big man but thus far not too much to complain about

  19. Amer ican Prince says:

    I forget to say nice job on the new layout. Really cool. Also I heard George and Greg say something about Pistons were only allowed to dress 10 players? I think I heard it had something to do with the suspensions, but I don’t think I’ve ever heard anything like that before? Did I just mishear?

    BTW good win nice 4 point play by ben gordon, monster jam by MAX and Rip with a nice scoring game. And Ben Walllace doing what Ben Wallace does. That part towards the end of the game where they showed Ben Chucky CV Kwame Tay on the bench was really a funny moment hah

  20. edt says:

    natalie can you add a “comments” button? It took me 5 minutes to figure out where to click to read the comments.

  21. dennis j says:

    The faster we stop mentioning AIyayaiyaiayai the better it will be…

  22. TAysHAuN says:

    go pistons!!

  23. mark says:

    GO pistons!!!!!!!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM