Allen Iverson to Memphis

Posted · 49 Comments

The Pistons can finally (per NBA regulations) remove Allen Iverson from their roster.

From Adrian Wojnarowski at Yahoo! Sports

“Allen Iverson has agreed to terms with the Memphis Grizzlies and will sign a one-year deal by week’s end, a league source told Yahoo! Sports on Wednesday.

He’s expected to sign a $3.5 million contract, with incentives to make more based on performance.

“God chose Memphis as the place that I will continue my career,” Iverson wrote on his Twitter page on Wednesday morning. “I met with [owner Mike Heisley], [GM] Chris Wallace and my next head coach, Lionel Hollins.”

Iverson, 34, met with team officials on Monday in Atlanta, where they discussed his potential role with the team.

“I feel that they are committed to developing a winner and I know that I can help them to accomplish that,” Iverson wrote on Twitter. “I feel that I can trust them.”

After a turbulent season with the Detroit Pistons, Iverson attracted marginal interest around the NBA this summer. Several teams, including the Los Angeles Clippers and Charlotte Bobcats, made inquiries, but only Memphis presented a serious bid.

No contending teams bothered to court the 10-time All-Star after he seemed unable to accept a complementary role.”

I was asked today on Twitter by a follower “does this give you closure”…my answer: If he comes off the bench for the Grizz.

That would be the definition of closure “Bad Boy” style.

49 Responses to "Allen Iverson to Memphis"
  1. Tim* says:

    I predict another miserable season for Iverson, perhaps retiring mid-season.

  2. Drew says:

    Ha ha ha ha ha

  3. Pawel says:

    If god was fair he would choose 2nd league polish club for him to play in haha

  4. Colton Keck says:

    Or and 1 , he’d get schooled by the professor , hahaha

  5. DD3 says:

    ok so Memphis has OJ Mayo. WHY get AI & stunt OJ’s growth, makes NO sense. AI can not coexist with other scorers. It didn’t work in Phi when he teamed with CWebb, it didn’t work in Den with Melo, it didn’t work in Det with Rip & it won’t work in Memphis. AI is DONE

  6. Chungi says:

    I agree,bad move by Memphis,they’ve been messing up since Vancouver.They still have much talent in their team though.

  7. RIP CITY says:

    Ha. God chose that he would play in Memphis. Iverson had absoloutely no say in the matter. Maybe his god is punishing him for ruining the Pistons’ season.

  8. FreshPrince91 says:

    and this loser’s team is the first team we have to play this season!! i hope the pistons crush this CLOWN!!!

  9. shab says:

    Finaly, Memphis is goin to the playoffs!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. Amber says:

    Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
    Champions!!!!!!!

  11. mannie32 says:

    Season opener… Wed 28 vs. Memphis… i.e. vs. Iverson
    Who woulda thought it would be much see TV?

  12. Chris says:

    If you sign a 1 yr deal how can you retire mid way through the season?

  13. Tycoon says:

    Best comment!

  14. rey says:

    just wait pistons fans wait for comeback of mr excitement mr ALLEN IVERSON, who has joe D, and m curry, made him down.

  15. Annie says:

    You bitch you, Nat. I LOVE it hahahaha

  16. Normal 2 says:

    First game at Memphis. Stuck will have 40 on A.I. so start his Scoring Average off on a good note.

  17. das says:

    lol whut? are super serious?

  18. Chad says:

    I’m a huge D fan but I really want to see AI stomp all over us this year.. it’s disgusting what Joe D and Curry did with him..

  19. RIP CITY says:

    What? Brought him into the best team that he will ever be on and tell him to be a team player? Those bastards…

  20. Sebastian says:

    You said it.

  21. Leo says:

    Oh my God, they killed AI
    You bastards!

    I’m all pumped up for the season, let em Rip!

  22. Marc
    GASOL
    +
    Ricky
    RUBIO
    +
    “POW”
    =
    Taaaaahhhhhhhh D ow…….
    How u like ich
    NOW?
    Dr. Dre is in OUR haus + PLO(w)
    PS: Get yo’sef sum “her”
    RELAX
    er

  23. Tim says:

    “back injury” perhaps?

  24. HIME1 says:

    Go! Pistons!

  25. kevin garnett says:

    allen iverson will be great in memphis… he”ll prove that detriot really sucks…!!!!!!! detriot coach made him fall.. better be ready

  26. Ryan says:

    You’ll find that run on sentences aren’t the best way to communicate.

    Spelling and punctuation help, too.

    Oh and your post made no sense. Detroit is one of the best teams, and one of the best at playing TEAM basketball. Iverson plays ME basketball, which is why he didn’t fit. Anyone who blames the team over Iverson hasn’t faced reality.

    AI: “I’ll do whatever the team wants me to do.”

    Team: “Play team basketball and be the sixth man.”

    AI: “Oh God no, I’m a superstar, give me the ball, put me on the billboards, I want to shine!”

  27. dale debevitts says:

    Ryan is a MOeMOe

  28. J Dre says:

    I vote for now changing the toons on the side. AI is officially gone, and I want to see the new, young faces take over the site. Still waiting for Deron and Wilcox, though…

  29. nofan says:

    As spectators

  30. Ryan says:

    Stay classy Debevitts.

  31. pistons word up says:

    the grizzzz will have a better record than the pizzz just wait n see

  32. mannie32 says:

    Okay, must see tv.

  33. VenZ RomZ says:

    hey nat . . . is there a toon for wilcox ??

  34. Diogenes says:

    I just talked to God and apparently this is not at all what he had in mind. He said “Dentist” not “Memphis”.

  35. Diogenes says:

    “BIKE” floooooower+
    Sheed is whut u need 2=
    Say itz sum
    Bam! Flip gipitz

  36. Diogenes says:

    I like question marks but despise parentheses.

    I would prefer to spell phonetically and to occasionally reverse my syntax.

    Iverson’s eternal well being is in jeopardy because he totally disregarded (misheard)God’s advice to become a dentist.

    Bam!

  37. Diogenes says:

    How do you spell JTab?

  38. Beans says:

    Hater!!!!!!
    what else can you do @DD3 than compare and hate successful people…..check urself! and ask yourself a a million dollar question…..AM I SO CLEAN WITHOUT A SINGLE STAIN? AI, is a successful player and may God see him through in his career! hater…shup up and find something good to do…

  39. Beans says:

    it baffles me a lot…to see how these folks bring sentiment to the game of basketball……..@RIP CITY…..u er nothing but a looser…..nobody even knows you and u er talking about future hall of famer….pls, find urself a nice job….hater!!!!

  40. Beans says:

    yes,,, they will make it to the playoff……Iverson has a heart of a lion…and u should never underestimate the heart of a Lion…
    go AI, go MEM……..

  41. Beans says:

    non of the haters!!!! they waant him on a rockin chair….Thank God he is back in the L

  42. Beans says:

    SYUCK doesnt know what it is yet in the L…PLS, save urself a valuable speech…….Father is quite different from FAT

  43. Chad says:

    brought him into the best team he’s been with the worst coach he’s ever been coached by, despite sheed throwing in the towel for the season – benching AI in favor of Stuckey who did absolutely nothing and was shown up by bynum in the playoffs, benching rip in favor of AI and turning the rest of the team against him..

    I agree AI should’ve taken the reserve role instead of playing injured but I put that on coaching.. had he been implimented as a reserve from the get-go none of this would have ever happened.. or if he had started and stayed there.. but that’s just my opinion. im just a fan.

  44. pistons 4 life says:

    Yeah, real successful. All those individual awards that he got in Philly and no championships to go with it.

  45. pistons 4 life says:

    I think Beans is an AI fan.

  46. pistons 4 life says:

    I had the heart of a lion once. Then I “hurt my back” and lost it.

  47. pistons 4 life says:

    Awesome!!! Love it.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM