Laimbeer gets an NBA Coaching Job with the Timberwolves

Posted · 21 Comments

Though it may not be the head coaching job Bill was looking for, I’m sure he’s on his way.

Via The Star Tribune

“New Timberwolves coach Kurt Rambis will add former Detroit Pistons bad-boy center Bill Laimbeer and former Sacramento Kings head coach Reggie Theus to his staff, according to a league source.

Those two notable names will join Boston assistant general manager Dave Wohl, a former Los Angeles Lakers assistant and New Jersey’s head coach in the 1980s who will become Rambis’ No. 1 assistant.

Laimbeer, 52, resigned as the Detroit Shock’s head coach and general manager in June after winning three WNBA titles in seven seasons as its coach. He did so in a surprise move presumably to pursue a coaching career in the NBA, where he won two NBA titles with the Pistons displaying an agitating playing style that earned him the nickname “His Heinous.”

He has never coached in the NBA.”

Good Luck Lamb

I’ll still miss the good old days.

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v7ZKBKIMEWY

21 Responses to "Laimbeer gets an NBA Coaching Job with the Timberwolves"
  1. Dang, Kuester should have recruited Bill, he would have been a great assistant coach!!

    We missed a great opportunity here.

    Hopefully we bounce back from this, Bill would have been a perfect fit on our bench.

  2. This one hurts Nat,

    Dang, what do you think our next move is from here?

    WE have to do something now. Because Bill was the next

    Best thing. Where do we go from here?

  3. I knew it was unlikely they would bring in Bill, I think he rubbed some people the wrong way and they wanted him to take an assistant job first.

    Personally though…I think he’ll be back in the D.

  4. I hope so Nat,

    We need some of those historic roots back in the

    organization, and Bill was the enforcer, Isiah was

    the heart and machine, Joe was the converter, the

    smooth operator, but Bill was the enforcer.

    We need an enforcer. The team looks good this year,

    I am very excited, I think that we will surprise

    alot of people. :-) I wonder if Joe has one last

    maneuver up his sleeve!? What do you think?

  5. I’m sure he’s always looking for another move but I will tell you one thing, he’s not having a fire sale.

  6. I agree.

    NO disrespect, but I just dont see Rip & Tay

    fitting with this team. We have a hybrid team.

    Don’t get me wrong Rip is a darn good player

    an a excellent competitor, just as Tayshaun,

    both are reliable in there own rights.

    But this is a whole new pistons, and one thing

    about getting new Pistons, that means you have a

    new engine. Old parts don’t work on a new car!

    Hopefully they end up in great scenarios like

    Mr.Big Shot. That was very classy what Joe did for

    Chauncey, hopefully it does the same for them.

    I am very hopeful and optimistic about the future.

    The future is bright, very bright :-)

  7. mannie32 says:

    congrats to him… t-wolves getting thues is also a nice addition to the coaching staff… they’ll still suck next year tho haha
    but hopefully al jefferson continues to develop into a beast

  8. mannie32 says:

    theus*

  9. BA22 says:

    Watching these old videos really gets me fired up! Bill was a good all around player. I don’t know where or how you find these but “Thank You” for showing them to us(please show us more).About adding Bill as Coach, Kuester probably considered Bill as an assistant but went with experienced coaches he new well and worked with before and the coaches that Joe had already had on the payroll.

  10. brgulker says:

    Something makes me think he’ll eventually end up back in Detroit …

  11. Chad says:

    When Kuester gets fired at the end of the season maybe Bill’s 1 season of assistant coaching will be enough experience for Joe D.

  12. Mr. Lulanaj says:

    My opinion is that there has to be something wrong between Bill and the Pistons organization cause nobody in the right mind would give Michael Curry a head coachin job with one year experience as a assistant and then go ahead and fire him and im not saying to do the same mistake again but at least hire Bill as an assistant cause at least he has shown us he can be a great leader and a great coach ( i know its the wnba but still some good experience is better then no experience) instead they bring a bunch of so so assistants and give them the job. Hopefully it works out with “this years” coaches cause if we had all the money that we donated to our coaches since 05 we would probably be able to afford at least one big man which is pretty damn obvious that we need. Amare or Bosh perhaps

  13. Fo shizzle says:

    why didnt the pistons just have him has coach?

  14. obiwan says:

    no comment

  15. mannie32 says:

    Big Ben’s # is 6 as per Pistons.com
    http://www.nba.com/pistons/roster/

  16. mannie32 says:

    As for Bill, it’s up to the coach’s to hire an assistant coach. If the GM hires the assistants, then the coach can blame losses on a supposed lack of support, etc. In that case GM’s let the coaches assemble their own coaching staff, and the shift of responsibility is on them. Makes sense for both the GMs and the coaches for this arrangemnt.

    Furthermore, having Bill on board would probably make it seem that Pistons are evaluating Bill and that he’s next in line. That wouldn’t show a lot of support in Kuester – don’t think that’s how you want to start off your relationship with your new coach.
    I’m extremely happy with our coaching staff, especially getting Brian Hill on board. No complaints from me.

  17. Casper411Det says:

    I might be wrong but I thought Bob Lanier was #6 and up in the rafters at the palace. So how could they give Ben the same #?

  18. Casper411Det says:

    My bad it was #16.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM