Pistons Fall to Rockets in Double-OT Thriller

Posted · 10 Comments

The Pistons, still without Rip, Sheed and A.I., lost in double overtime to the Rockets who where lead by Yao Ming with 31 points, 15 rebounds and 4 blocks. The effort and energy were there, but we couldn’t find the net (38.4% FG-%). Herrmann couldn’t finish the Rockets off in regulation. He had a nice look, but his three point attempt went in & out.

•    2nd chance points and offensive rebounds kept us in the game. We won the battle of the boards 48-45 and took care of the ball.

•   We started the game ice cold, hitting just 1 of our first 11 shots and finishing the 1st quarter with a 26% FG-percentage. It could only go up from there.

•   Kwame Brown had a very good game. He had to guard Yao Ming on his own for long stretches of the game and looked good doing it. In the opening minutes he bricked a layup off the front of the rim and got his 2nd attempt stuffed by Yao…didn’t look to good, but he manned up and played a very solid game. 9 points, 12 boards (7 offensive) for “our” 1st round 1st pick.

•    Antonio McDiggity-Diggity-Diggity-Diggity-DYESS was awesome once again. His scored 14 points and crashed the boards for 20 rebounds. He had his first ten boards by halftime.

•   Tayshaun Prince and Rodney Stuckey hit a combined 12 out of 42 shots…not so good.

•   Have you seen Mutombo’s finger wag after he blocked Bynum’s layup? Where was the finger wag after Maxiell dunked on him a few seconds later?

•   Tayshaun’s poster dunk attempt on Yao in the 1st quarter was, like the guy in the NBA Live commercial says, bananas. Too bad he couldn’t finish it.

•   In the 4th the Pistons looked like they just wanted to win more than the Rockets did. Bynum opened the final quarter of regulation with a 4-0 run of his own.

•   I still don’t know why Yao got to shoot free throws after he punched Kwame in the face. I’d love an explanation for this one by the referees.

•   Arron Afflalo was a big reason this game was close even though our core guys couldn’t hit their shots. 4/6 from three point land on his way to a career-high 24 points!

•    Yao was their go-to guy in the final minutes of the 4th quarter. He scored 7 straight points for them so we had to switch McDyess on him and deny him the ball. He didn’t get to touch the ball in the final minute of regulation.

•   We had a chance to win the game, but Herrmann missed his shot (in & out). Too bad. A buzzer-beater would have been really nice.

1st OVERTIME

•    We won the jumpball. Nice jump, Kwame!

•   Afflalo hit one of his big threes to keep us alive.

•  The Rockets ran their offense through Yao and Scola who combined for their last 19 points sometime through the 1st overtime.

•    In the final minute, it was STUCKEY-time. Rodney drove to the rim and finished a sick left-handed layup off the wrong foot to make this a one-point game.

•    Lowry missed one of his two free throws giving us the chance to tie the game and that is what Stuckey did. Another amazing drive to the hoop, splitting the defenders thanks to two well placed screens by Tayshaun and McDyess for a quick two points.

•    With 16.5 seconds left on the clock, the Rockets had all the time they needed to get a good look at the rim, but our defense was just too good. They couldn’t get the ball to Yao and finally settled for a tough Ron Artest fall-away jumper that had no chance of going in.

2nd OVERTIME

•   “Ooooooh, he banks it in…” – that’s what one of the ESPN commentators said after Maxiell hit a free throw off the glass. “And nobody seems to be surprised” is what he added moments later.

•   The Rockets got a 10 point lead really fast and the game looked like it was pretty much over.

•   A 7-0 run, including a Herrmann 3, made this a one possession game again, but we had to foul because there wasn’t much time left. The only way we could win is if they would miss a free throw or two. We sent Brooks to the line twice, but he withstood the pressure and the game was over.

You can find the game recap here.

10 Responses to "Pistons Fall to Rockets in Double-OT Thriller"
  1. ladyPiston says:

    I’m really proud of our guys. They fought to the bitter end. . .The message: “We may be down, but we’re not out!”

  2. pistonsfan32 says:

    very good effort. maybe dyess has finally rubbed off on the other guys in the locker room. they played with more heart than hallmark on valentines day :)

  3. Marcell says:

    As long as the guys keep playing like they are at least trying I don’t mind. It’s those nights where they look like they don’t even want to be on the court that make a lot of fans mad. At least me.

  4. Rotten Atom says:

    I was at the game. There were plenty of rowdy Pistons fans present and we definitely made our presence felt. Too bad we couldn’t pull it out…

  5. ben says:

    i was at the game too it was a blast couldnt have asked for a better game to be at well it would have been better with a w but it was still good

  6. CONE (Mexico) says:

    If this is what we can do without our 3 all-stars wait for them to comeback!!!
    Next 3 games for the Pistons are so freakin’ important

    1st: Vs. Clippers (We need a “W” to get out of this losing streak.

    2nd: Vs. Heat ( If we win we get closer to them)

    3rd: Vs. Bulls (They are behnd us right now so winning is so important)

    next 3 games…. 3 wins for the Pistons Guarantsheed!!

  7. blamu2 says:

    im so hoping to meet boston in the first round, i dont even know why.

  8. Noa Daniely says:

    Vladan & Martin, another great post :)
    Well done :)

  9. pistonsfan1 says:

    i wish u guys would play harder to go to the finals

  10. pistonsfan1 says:

    good think rip is back

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM