Pistons vs. Heat

Posted · 23 Comments

Pistons vs. Heat
The Pistons host Dwyane Wade, the league’s leading scorer, and the 26-21 Miami Heat tonight at The Palace.

Forget the longest home losing streak since Detroit was wearing Teal horses. The Pistons need to a win tonight against the Miami Heat not only for the morale of the players and fans, but for the simple fact that the Pistons at 25-21 are a half-game behind the Heat, in the No. 6 playoff spot. Yes the Pistons are #6 in the standings.

Not only will Rodney Stuckey get a chance to play against his favorite player for the first time in his career, he’s going to have the defend him too.

“It’s another game,” Stuckey said Tuesday after practice. “Like I said, Dwyane Wade is one of the best players in the league. It’s going to be a tough night for all of us trying to defend him.”

“I just watched him play throughout his college career and then obviously when he came to the NBA,” Stuckey said. “He’s always been one of my favorite players to watch.” Via The Detroit Free Press

Good News/Bad News

  • Miami has lost five straight against the Pistons and 16 of the last 19.
  • The Heat have dropped five in a row in Detroit and are 1-10 in its last 11 at The Palace.
  • Rodney Stuckey may be bothered by the bruised thigh that he received during Sunday’s game with Cleveland.

Tip off is at 7:30 P.M. and will be locally televised on FSN. If you can’t watch the broadcast, tune into 1130 AM WDFN The Fan.  Can’t do either? Follow the game on NBA.com.

I will be enjoying the game with the winners of The Need4Sheed Suite Night courtesy of The Detroit Pistons.

Comments and  Chat.

23 Responses to "Pistons vs. Heat"
  1. Mark says:

    This isn’t the first time Stuckey had to play against Wade. Maybe starting as a Piston it is, but he has played against Wade before.

  2. Whatsittoya says:

    Lets see how the Pistons match up with a team that has the same record as them.

  3. Chris says:

    can we go as far as saying that ‘this is a must win game’ for the Pistons?

  4. Amber says:

    I don’t think it matters at this point. A must win game would’ve been several games ago. If they won tonight, and actually played well, I’d be very shocked.

    Pistons sellout streak is over tonight. The streak that started 5 years ago and lasted for 259 games is officially over…not too surprising, but very pitiful.

  5. Whatsittoya says:

    I am suprised it even lasted 259 games

  6. The Fluidics says:

    I’m there all the time. They never sell it out, not for a long time.
    It’s cool though, nobody has jobs to buy tickets, aside from the lack of success.

  7. Amber says:

    They would sell games out; people simply wouldn’t go. This time they were short 400-500 tickets of a sell-out. This article (http://www.freep.com/article/20090204/SPORTS03/90204114/1051/Pistons+sellout+streak+(259)+to+end+tonight) shows that the blame is on the economy; I don’t really agree. If Detroit was good (still had Chauncey and a center), I think people would go…it just isn’t worth it to them at this point.

    Way to start out a game, guys!!

    I think MC needs to realize what Flip learned…after a couple years…and he needs to tell Detroit to HAVE FUN, instead of trying so hard and focusing so hard.

  8. Chris says:

    what is up with the turnovers?!?!?!

  9. Ryan says:

    Hey George blaha mentioned Natalie on TV. I was not really paying attention at the time but he said something like “Natalie from that need4sheed website”.

  10. Richie says:

    When Blaha is name dropping you, you know you’re something special.

  11. Chris says:

    haha that’s pretty cool. Way to go Natalie!

  12. pistonsfan101 says:

    8 point lead going into the 4th quarter? Sounds familiar… hmmm….. oh yeah! Last game against the Cavs!

    Hope Detroit learned their lesson and not loose that lead in the next 12 mins!

    LETS GOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

  13. Chris says:

    Oh my gosh… they BARELY won…………

  14. ALMEI says:

    Ok–first the good news. We won and broke the home losing streak! Our friends from Austria finally got to see a Pistons win before they head home. Now for the not really bad news but “why do we make it so hard” news. Another 8 point lead going into the 4th that within 5 minutes was gone. Nervous time until 87-87 when we made 5 straight to go up 92-87 with 20 seconds left and a technical free throw coming up. I told my son “looks like the losing streak is over.” Then boom, Tay misses the tech, Wade hits a 3, no problem, Hamilton at the line–he misses both! Where are you Chauncey who was gold at the line at end of games? Now with 15 seconds left, Miami can win it with a 3. Whew, Wade missed, Afflalo fouled with 5 seconds to go. Made the first, missed the second (so at the end of the game between Tay, Rip and Afflalo we were 1-5 at the line!). Three pointer by Wade for overtime–miss. Like I said earlier, good news is we won, but . . . lucky that Wade was a little off tonight.

    Hopefully this will get us started again. It certainly got my heart rate accelerated in the last 20 seconds! Can we please hit a free throw when we need one!

  15. JACK says:

    I was just watching the game on DVR and heard the Blaha shoutout to Vladan and Martin (and you Natalie). Dang, what a treat! That so makes a Need4Sheed.com clip!

  16. The Fluidics says:

    Amber, I do think it’s the economy. Red Wings couldn’t sell out playoff games last year, during the first three playoff rounds. I lost my job in 06, and didn’t land a new one for over two years, the economy really is VERY bad here in Michigan.

  17. mikeinthed says:

    even up 5 at the end and the way things have been going i had a feeling things would get sticky at the end…. Natalie it was so cool to hear you and your austrian friends get shouted out on FSN… i think its a tribute to the fact that its not just the best piston blog but clearly one of the better NBA blogs i have come to see… hopefully we can start a streak right

  18. Mark says:

    I can’t believe how the calls can go sometimes. Prince fouled Wade on the last play, but no one called it. It’s like they wanted to give him the shot.
    Luckily Afflalo was enough to get him off balance.

  19. pistonsfan101 says:

    mikeinthed, I missed it!

    Can someone please post it??

  20. gMac says:

    I think , the just couldn’t keep faking the sell out anymore. It was too obvious, that the place is not as full as it used to be.

  21. Max-Aholic says:

    I’m sick of Stuckey, he’s a ball hog and doesn’t know how to direct this team. He doesn’t care about getting teammates shots, its obvious. I couldn’t stand watching him match up against Wade, trying to one-up him. Big deal we beat the Heat…barely.

  22. Johnny (#1 Stuckey fan) says:

    Max-Aholic…I think you need a reality check buddy. To make an ignorant comment like that about Stuckey is ridiculous at this point. For a 2nd year player learning the PG position on the fly like this and still being able to be quite efficient at it is tough in this league. Stuckey is going to be great, whether you like him or not. And i’m pretty sure i didn’t see any one-uping at all from him vs. Wade, so idk what game you were watchin there…it was obvious he had to play decent against him, what did you expect him to do back down and let Wade walk all over him? No fool, he makes Wade play on both ends like any good player would do…gimme a break your a joke and don’t know what you’re talking about, so unless you have an intelligent comment to make, please don’t say anything for the love of God!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM