Small Ball is Back

Posted · 19 Comments

Curry cops out…for now at least.

Rip and Iverson to start tonight.

“We want our best players on the court as much as possible,” Curry said. “But for 32 minutes (of a game’s 48 minutes) we need to be big. A lot of nights Alan or Rip will be subbed kind of early but they’ll come back at the start of the second quarter with (Will) Bynum or Stuckey.”

“I don’t expect those guys to want to come off the bench, but if we’re at the point we need to do that, we will,” Curry said. Via The Detroit News

I’m not happy about this one bit. Detroit had been playing their best ball since the Iverson trade since ditching the small ball lineup. I will be shocked if this lasts long. I do understand neither Rip or AI should be coming off the bench, but when does it become about the team?

“I don’t expect those guys to want to come off the bench, but if we’re at the point we need to do that, we will,” Curry said.

Said Iverson: “You always are supposed to do what the coach asks you to do. I’m not trying to be a distraction. Obviously, it would be difficult for me. It’s something I’ve never done in my career. It would be different. We’ll see what happens. That’s something I’ve never faced in my career, back to when I was a little kid. That’s something I’ve never been through in my life.”

19 Responses to "Small Ball is Back"
  1. Steve the hated says:

    big suprise.. another puppet of a coach.. they wont win nothing with a puppet. period. too many egos.

  2. Chris says:

    wow..Atleast AI was somewhat willing to come off the bench and said that he didn’t want to be a ‘distraction’.

  3. sagat says:

    i think its easier said than done. AI is a first ballot hall of famer, and Rip is the captain and the leading scorer.

    benching stuckey is easier. bring him in at the first whistle. its curry’s job to figure this out, thats why he makes the big bucks. make it work, mike

  4. Daniel says:

    Curry’s a pussy. He’s got Joe D’s backing, so he needs to do what’s best for the team. He’s bowing to the players’ egos, which is pathetic.

  5. Amer ican Prince says:

    just the fact he said he’s going to sub one of them out early, speaks volumes about why he chose this, he’s afraid of his players. Oh Flip you looked better before you shaved your head.

  6. The Fluidics says:

    BTW, they had a winning record playing small, but not as good as when Rip got hurt. Still can’t believe he flat refused to come off the bench.

  7. James says:

    Too early to start hating on Curry. He needs to test waters before jumping into a ocean. I understand that. If the small lineup starts to backfire he will do whats necessary.. Let the season play out. Everyone is too critical.. You do know the East is weak enough where the Pistons can stumble in and make a run at this. STOP HATIN’

  8. Eddie says:

    Why no one in the press has challenged Curry as a coach is beyond me. He has no experiance and this is not a team to experiment with. The small line-up isnt bad but the fact that he changes his mind a day later is rediculous. Get this cat out of here and bring in Laimbeer and Mahorn who will demand respect and will surely get sheed back in the post more often where he belongs. Even when we’re winning, we’re not winning by enough.

  9. Amer ican Prince says:

    Eddie the press are too busy attacking us, saying we’re overreacting and such. And making backhanded I told you so comments every time the Pistons go on a 1 game win streak

    James we already tested those waters, we sunk into it. In terms of hating, I’ve defended Curry many times even though I didn’t agree with him, look back at this site and see some of my posts. I knew there would be time to learn the team and learn the style, I didn’t like hiring him in the first place, but went with it. The reason this bothers me more than most other decisions of his is the FACT that Joe D said the one thing we didn’t have to worry about is him holding guys accountable and not backing down. And this move proves he can’t do that. So what exactly was the point of hiring him? Joe D said he wanted Curry so he didn’t follow the typical protocal of coaches throughout the history of NBA. But as we can see, that’s exactly what he’s doing, he just doesn’t have the experience to do it well

  10. KG says:

    That’s because people are overreacting….
    Simple solution AI off the bench end of story makes us that much better of a team.

  11. Vanalope says:


    Well at least I’m not the only one frustrated. We’ll see what happens, though I’m thinking we already did see what happens with this small ball line up and it was a disaster.

    I too am thinking that Curry needs to grow a pair.


  12. tyler says:

    curry sucks !!!!!!!! go to big lineup now !!!!! or will the season

  13. tyler says:

    rip or ai has to come off bunch amir jhonson has to be a starter defese wins champingships neather big man shot blocker

  14. tyler says:

    I miss filp sunders bad. Why did we fire him !! we were a champingship team now were just FUCKED UP joe dumers makes the line up we still get allin iverson any ways i dont no why joe filp ????? !! :{

  15. tyler says:

    i dont no why joe fire filp

  16. tyler says:

    we better go big NOW !!!!!!!!!!! are seasones are counting on it.

  17. tyler says:


  18. Fernando Fore says:

    Pistons need defense, not offense neither ego, that is the solution. So, we neeed Dyess or Amir on the court and AI coming from the bench. He could be 6th Man of the Year. Please Curry go Big!!!!!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment


2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM