Pistons vs Nuggets – Hello Chauncey

Posted · 22 Comments

It’s not business as usual for the Pistons as they are set to go against their longtime teammate Chauncey Billups for the first time since the trade for Allen Iverson tonight in Denver.

Chauncey has put his new team (2nd) in a place where they haven’t been in a while… the top half of the Western Conference. Denver (25-12) is on a 5 game winning streak even without the help of Carmelo Anthony, who is sidelined with a broken hand.

Now we all had thoughts about the trade before it happened and now. So The Nugg Doctor and I sat down for a little word association therapy session, his thoughts on Chauncey and mine on Allen Iverson.

N4S: Likes

ND: I’m not going to bore you with stats because we both know what each man brings to his team every night so what I like about Chauncey Billups is the steady hand he brings. The Nuggets are a team that in recent years could give you a heart attack on any given night, but this year things are a little bit different with Billups. The Nuggets are undefeated when entering the fourth quarter with a lead and are also undefeated this year when Chauncey reaches double-figures in assists. This is a testament to the change in basketball culture within this team that Billups brought. Chauncey’s presence, with his leveling of the emotions and contagious focus on the moment, has silently put a killer instinct back in the Nuggets regardless of the few sizable leads they have given up to a few questionable teams.

N4S: Dislikes

ND: It could just be the honeymoon feeling lingering, but I can’t really think of anything I don’t like about having Mr. Big Shot back in Denver. He’s a hometown hero that’s quickly becoming a Cinderella story. Nobody thought the Nuggets would be second place overall in the Western Conference at practically the midway point in the year, but yet here we are at 25-12 and with only the Lakers out to a better start in the West.

N4S: Changes he brought

ND: The biggest change in the Nuggets that I’ve seen directly attributed to Chauncey Billups is a change in basketball culture. The Nuggets have been a bit of circus sideshow the last few years with a ton of statistical and individual anomalies as well as other honors, but that hasn’t added up to a hill of beans come playoff time. Barring ANOTHER serious injury, that shouldn’t be the case this year. The main reason I believe this is in addition to the steady hand I’ve already mentioned  the fact that Chauncey has won a championship ring, and a Finals MVP award, and that has guys listening with their ears perked when Chauncey has something to say.  Before the trade, I felt that this was kind of a me-for-me basketball team, win or lose, made up of individuals who were going to try and fill their own agendas often times at the detriment to the team. This year, Chauncey’s leadership and championship resume has been a focal point based upon his team-first style of play and the Nuggets have bought into that and it’s been paying off.

N4S: Surprises

ND: I’ve been most pleasantly surprised by Chauncey’s defense. AI was way too much of a gambler on defense for me personally and after watching the way Chauncey more discriminately picks his opportunities on defense it was an area of improvement that the Nuggets desperately needed.


N4S: Expectations

ND: I’d settle for a first round win in the playoffs, but honestly I’m expecting more than that with this year’s Nuggets as long as they can all stay healthy. Kenyon Martin is having a fantastic year, Nene is true inspiration after fighting cancer, and with the gusto of Carmelo and the guidance of Chauncey there is no reason why this team couldn’t make it to the Western Finals. Denver’s also has a great cast the role players with Dahntay Jones, Linas Kleiza, J.R. Smith, and the “Birdman” Chris Andersen bringing their wildly different but effective games every night makes this a very special crew.

Thanks go out to Nick Sclafani, AKA The Nugg Doctor, for giving us some Denver insight. Remember to head on over to The Nugg Doctor for my thoughts on Iverson.

Chauncey Says:

“I’m looking forward to seeing my guys. It’s going to be fun,” Billups said.

But he’s not out to prove anything about anybody giving up on him too soon.

“I’m good. I’ve proved everything I could in that city. I’m doing it now here,” Billups said. “I’m just looking forward to seeing my dudes, competing, playing, having a fun game. That’s all.” Via NBA.com

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=knlgJ665fb4

Tip off is at 9:00 P.M. and will be locally broadcast on FSN . If you can’t watch the broadcast, tune into 1130 AM The Fan. Can’t do either? Follow the game on NBA.com.

22 Responses to "Pistons vs Nuggets – Hello Chauncey"
  1. Rban says:

    As one of the fans who was cool with the trade, and still am for the present and future. I have so much respect for Chauncey always so classy and passionate about everything. It was great to hear him talk about “his boys” the way he did.

    I appreciate everything Chauncey did in Detroit, and at times man i couldnt talk the dude up enough, all my friends most not bball fans knew exactly who Big Shot Billups was and what he could do on the court.

    Much Love Chauncey!! You’ll will be remembered always as our Finals MVP. And one of the greatest Pistons of all time.

    SMOOTH.

  2. mobius909 says:

    i don’t care so much about the AI return to denver or the fact that we get to see chauncey again. I wanna see the Stuckey Vs Chauncey match up. that ought to be interesting!

  3. The Fluidics says:

    AI should be jacked for the game tonight.

  4. Whatsittoya says:

    Great to see Chauncey play tonight against the Pistons. Stuckey should match up with Chauncey. Hope sheed and Richard play.

  5. mobius909 says:

    Gotta get video of reunions… i wanna see em cry.

  6. mobius909 says:

    but let’s talk about this…

    the media keeps saying detroit is not a contender or an elite team in the east anymore. haven’t we beat orlando and cleveland? i’m pretty sure we beat the hawks and we got a couple more games vs boston too. i’d say we’re still up there.

  7. The Fluidics says:

    Man, the guide on comcast said the game started at 9:30, and I missed the start of the game.

  8. augustslady says:

    The media is an ass….
    They laughed at the stones in the 04 finals too.
    I don’t hang my hat on what experts think!!!
    The run with the latest big thing….bunch of
    pontificating blowhards if you ask me….

  9. The Fluidics says:

    How are these chumps gonna hate on Dyess? No wonder he would rather retire than play there again.

  10. The Fluidics says:

    Showtime eats so much so that he has the energy to drain thows clutch free throws. It’s funny how Pistons were getting killed by missing free throws, wins the game on free throws.

  11. Pistonsbaby01 says:

    Anyone see the Boston-Cleveland game? What’s up with the Cavs blue and yellow jerseys? Since when did there colors become red, blue, and yellow?? BTW they are outrageously ugly along with there warm-up gear!

  12. Pistonsbaby01 says:

    Great win for Detroit even though they didn’t play there best.

    Cant believe they booed Dyess! How rude!

    It’s still hard watching Chauncey play with another team. I kept thinking what if he was still on our team.

    Hopefully Rodney will be better for tomorrow’s game.

    Lastly- I couldnt stand looking at Chris Andersen, with the hair and colorful tattoos he looks like he should be playing in some kind of band rather than the NBA.

  13. The Fluidics says:

    I kept thinking they looked like the Lakers jerseys. Not as bad as the gold and white Wizards uniforms.

  14. Pistonsbaby01 says:

    Yea they did look like the Lakers jerseys. I saw clips after the game and I thought they were showing the Lakers but the announcers said it was the Cavs and Celtics game instead. So I was confused about it. I hadn’t realized they changed there colors to red, yellow, and blue. Anyone know when that happened? I always thought there colors were red and white.

  15. Pistonomics says:

    The Nuggets broadcasting crew kept calling Afflalo a rookie out of UCLA.
    I guess thats why he iced the game.

  16. Mike says:

    I love Chauncey Billups.

  17. pistons01 says:

    good to see chauncey playing well, but it was kinda funny to hear him say he wanted to be remembered in detroit as coming hard to work every night.. i think we all know that was not the case his last few years (esp uunder flip). he sometimes wouldn’t attempt a shot until the late third and you can say all u want about him trying to get his teammates involved but he was complacent at times too. not saying it was only him but i just found his statement kinda funny.

    ANYWAYS… so glad we pulled out the win with half our roster in pain. now all we need to do is pull a miracle in Utah (considering they have our number) and come home with a wonderful road trip in our pocket.

    one more thing…
    CLEVELAND LOOK DOWN CAUSE UR NOT TAKING THE CENTRAL FROM US JUST YET!!!! 6 1/2 BEHIND … WE’LL CATCH U!

  18. AIfan4life says:

    can AI please get a little love homies?!?!?! he was outscored 20 to 3 at halftime by chauncey, but he was absolutely confident, quick as hell, and almost back to the old AI form in the 2nd half… cmon now, he was amazing you cant front, along with tay, and great D that they don’t practice in enver.. i mean no one even mentioned how great he was in the 2nd half (minus that boneheaded play on jr smith at the end) but we woulda never won if it wasnt for his mafnificient play.. although ultimately a team effort, and i say win of the season.. especially the way this baby started.. be that agressive and assertive AI and we wont lose!!! lets go pistons!

  19. mr big shot says:

    those cleveland jerseys are fire i love them.. they have marooon on the collar. i miss chauncey cant wait for the return to mo town tho.. cleveland is a beast btw stil think we can beat them tho kinda…

  20. mr big shot says:

    oh yea and we lost to the hawks mobius

  21. mannie32 says:

    quote of the night!

    “That is all fun at the start, but at some point it becomes a game and you just try to win the best you can,” Billups said. “It was a little strange. There were a couple times in the third quarter when I kept looking up at the clock, we were actually up and I kept for some reason thinking we were down because I kept looking at the Pistons’ (score). It was just kind of weird.”

  22. ..313.. says:

    dyess was laughing about it and thought it was koo!
    but if it werent for iverson we would of never cought up

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM