Yes, we’re talking about Practice

Posted · 14 Comments

Can you honestly believe it?

I would be understating things if I said I was disappointed to hear about Allen Iverson’s decision to skip the hour-long practice Michael Curry held on Thanksgiving. Whether Curry decided to hold practice on the holiday or not is really not the issue. The issue is a new player, on a new team where he vowed that he would do whatever it took to fit in with his new teammates to strive towards winning a championship, decided he was more important than everyone else.

Had Chauncey still been on the team there would be no Thanksgiving practice Allen, they need more practice because of you and you didn’t show. Way to show your teammates you’re all about winning. What it showed them is it’s all about you.

I wasn’t thrilled with AI’s acquisition, but after watching his press conference when he joined the team and the sincerity in his voice that he’d do whatever it took I changed my tune. No doubt he’s a phenomenal player, but I didn’t like his attitude. So to be fair after the presser I wiped his slate clean in my eyes. Everyone deserves a second chance, right?

That didn’t last long at all. Try winning the fans back that were on the fence now Allen.

I truly enjoyed that a ton of you took time to comment on the situation, and if you haven’t already go read what fellow Pistons fans had to say in the comments of the original post. And feel free to keep them coming.

UPDATE: No Excuse from Iverson, just an apology.

Chris McCosky – The Detroit News

“I talked to Joe last night,” Iverson said Friday morning. “He was very supportive of me. He let me know how things are run around here and let me know it wasn’t something that can continue to happen. He let me know it was unacceptable.”

Iverson, who skipped practice on Thursday, was extremely contrite Friday morning.

“I have no excuses,” he said. “I apologize to my teammates, first and foremost, the coaching staff, the organization and definitely, our fans. It’s something that shouldn’t happen and it won’t happen again.”

14 Responses to "Yes, we’re talking about Practice"
  1. Jessica says:

    I like allen Iverson because he is such a good player and i think that he will really help us….but i stiill miiss chauncey alot…its good that curry held practiice on thanksgiving because they need all the practice they can get…we need to get in rythm of how iverson really plays and how we can play better with him…at least he apologized for missing practice and i hope curry starts him because we need him….chauncey we all still miss you!!!!!!!!

  2. Craig says:

    This may sound harsh, but I don’t think the message is going to be sent to Allen Iverson by not starting him. I think the message is, he’s suspended for multiple games.

    If the player’s association were to protest such a harsh response, then keep him active and locked to the bench.

    There is nothing this guy is going to do improve the chemistry of this team. It’s one thing if we’re talking about a 25 year old AI but we’re talking about a MAN in the twilight of his career and given the fact he’s on a one year lease, he’s doing nothing to prove to myself, other Piston fans, Joe Dumars, Bill Davidson, his teammates and Michael Curry that he’s serious about winning a championship.

    What he is proving out to be is the equivalent of a Lotus Esprit. It looks nice, it’s fast as a bullet, but it can’t be relied on to get you from A to B.

  3. Rban says:

    Its over lets move on, he apologized, and he talked with hes teamates about it and eveyrthings cool, so dont start him tongiht and lets move on, im sure thats what the players want.

  4. Vivee says:

    Relax everyone….it is disappointing but lets not get carried away. There will be other incidents with players this year so lets not overreact. He apologized and lets move on.

  5. andyfrombrooklyn says:

    i think ai should be punished. michael vick has been punished. martha stewart was punished. like still president bush said about texas justice…tough love.

  6. Rban says:

    Honestly in my opinion Rasheed has done worse things then this during his time in Detroit.

  7. Youtalkinboutpractice? says:

    AI IS THE MAN, HE IS MAKING IT SO THAT YOUR LAME ASS TEAM HAS ABSOLOUTLY NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO CHANCE AT AN NBA TITLE. WHO KNOWS, HE MIGHT BE SUCH A BAD FIT, YOU MIGHT NOT EVEN MAKE THE PLAYOFFS. HONESTLY, I SEE NO WAY YOU CAN WORK AI IN YOUR SYSTEM. HAVE A GOOD REST OF THE YEAR.
    P.S. GO LIONS

  8. Piston Fan in CT says:

    Get used to it people. The face of the franchise changed with that trade. We don’t know what it is like to have a “superstar” on the squad, but I guarnsheed you we will from here on out (Bosh,Boozer,Wade,Leborn, whoever). AI was 100 percent wrong, but somtimes that is how “superstars” today act. You and I both know Joe D will take care of it. Lets move on and support our team.

  9. Steve The Hated says:

    Wow..you gotta come into a different teams blog and write in all caps just to be heard? aww sounds like someones favorite team got their shit stomped by the pistons the last decade got him a bit sad :(, either that or no girl “or maybe guy in his case” wont touch his little baby pee pee..pathetic. Keep playing world of warcraft and keep not getting laid twerp

  10. Amer ican Prince says:

    when people say move on it’s because they are scared of conflict. It’s easy for Iverson to apologize AFTER he reaps the rewards. The reason Flip got fired was because he didn’t command respect. I’m sorry but AI needs to really see the error of his ways because this isn’t the first time he’s done this and clearly he values his time more than money so fining him isn’t exactly that big of a deal to him. And I’m getting tired of hearing “the players understand what this organization is about” rather than making sure they do. Joe Dumars is too lenient sometimes as well

  11. TDP says:

    Trade him for Marbury.

  12. andyfrombrooklyn says:

    allen iverson has done a deeply disturbing thing. it is very bad and wrong. i hear he has apologised, but can that really make it o.k.? ……why yes… star in a destruction of the bucks.

  13. KG says:

    HAHA god listen to you people i’d skip practice on thanksgiving too. Dick move by Curry, IVO was just the only one that showed his displeasure with the move. Get over it people.

  14. E-Con Jones says:

    It is absolutely silly to get all over A.I. for this one. The man’s first priority is God, his second is his family and his third is basketball. Get off his case already. I wouldn’t have sacrificed time with my family to go to practice on Thanksgiving morning either.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM