Pistons vs. Bobcats takes a backseat to Billups and Iverson

Posted · 10 Comments

After the shocking blockbuster went down this morning The Pistons will look very different when they take the floor against the Bobcats and former head coach Larry Brown tonight.

I’m leaving you little to talk about other than the reality of what just went down. The trade works and doesn’t on so many levels as many of you have already mentioned in the comments. Sure, some of our hearts may not be in it, but wishing Chauncey all the best as he goes back and plays for his home town team and a thank you for what he has done is all we can do as fans.

Is Iverson truly The Answer? We will get that question answered come June. Just think, the future is so bright we have to wear shades.

I’m sure you have been checking out Pistons.com all day long but just in case you missed it, check out the HUGE welcome AI is getting.

Tonight’s tip is at 7 PM and will be locally broadcast on FSN Detroit an NBATV. If you can’t catch it on TV you can always tune in to 1130 AM WDFN The Fan or stream it live through your computer at NBA.com.

10 Responses to "Pistons vs. Bobcats takes a backseat to Billups and Iverson"
  1. Steve says:

    There’s a game tonight? lol

    I love this trade personally, as I talked about it in my blog (http://stevekays.blogspot.com), but it’s fortunate that the Pistons only play the Bobcats tonight.

  2. Steve says:

    During the past two seasons, Billups has logged a player efficiency rating of 21.38 and 23.48, compared with 19.61 and 21.06 for Iverson. Throw in that Billups is a much better defensive player, has a superior durability track record and is a year younger, and there’s no doubt which player you’d rather have going forward — especially because Billups’ savvy floor game and long-range shooting are likely to age much better than Iverson’s speed-based approach.

    Nuff Said

  3. Sam says:

    Geez, Pistons going to be a whole new team, so who’s the point guard tonight?? Iverson and Sheed will come off the payroll next year, so what does Dumars have in mind??? But this stinks up th chemistry, and Billups is still better than Iverson…..

    Dyess, please come back, you are such a gentleman!
    I’m going to cry!

    Don’t forget to vote tomorrow!

  4. The Fluidics says:

    Stuckey should be your starting PG tonight, with Bynum his backup. I can say one thing, it’ll be interesting.

  5. ryan says:

    when will iversons first game with the team be?
    i saw the “welcome iverson vs. the celtics” because that is are next home game… but he should be able to play before that, right?

  6. Steve says:

    Iverson’s first game is supposed to be Wednesday at Toronto.

    Billups might be better, but this trade is about the future. Joe Dumars is rebuilding before he has to. If Iverson is productive it’s just icing on the cake.

  7. The Fluidics says:

    If you are worried about losing Chauncey, remember the Orlando series last year, where the Pistons won with Stuckey on point and Chauncey in a suit. In the secound round of the playoffs.

  8. The Answer says:

    im jumping on the iverson bandwagon!! who wants to join :D?

  9. Richie says:

    We won two games without Chauncey in that Orlando Series, Fludics. That’s not enough to convince me that Stuckey will easily replace Iverson. I’m thinking that Curry will keep us on track by using his entire team, like he has 3/3 games this season, even after A.I. gets here. I do believe Chauncey is the more valuable player, but it doesn’t seem we have much of a choice in the matter.
    I sure hope McDyess comes back…

  10. Tom says:

    Im wondering if anyone knows where i can watch a stream of the pistons nuggets game on 3/3. id like to see chauncey’s return home, but am currently living out west. thanks

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM