McDyess Should Be Back

Posted · 19 Comments

Sources tell WDFN’s Matt Dery that Antonio McDyess Should be back.

What it means is The Pistons hope that IF The Nuggets buy out Dyess- which they may – then they would have an opportunity to bring him back. What it means for me is…Ice For Dyess is still in play.

19 Responses to "McDyess Should Be Back"
  1. Damien W. says:

    O.o Really? XD So the Ice for Dyess campaign is still valid. That’s great news that we have a solid player off the bench staying put.

  2. I still felt Dyess should have Ice but even better with Detroit.

  3. tony says:

    it means to me how about mcdyess plays like he want the ice.

  4. DetroitGirl4life says:

    to be honest i think Dyess coming back would make the trade a lot better because we basically just gave up Chauncey (i’m going to miss him) and Samb(im going 2 miss him)

  5. Blake says:

    I don’t see what’s not to like about this deal? Sure, it’s sad to see a guy like Chauncey leave, but with AI and Sheed coming off the books the Pistons will have all the money in the world to lure in the cream of the crop in free agent talent. I love this trade.

  6. gMac says:

    Dyess would’ve opted out but he stayed with use and had to put up with all the shits this team had in playoffs. I feel bad for him. Hopefully, he WANTS to come back.

  7. Rachel says:

    NOOOOO how bout we get Chauncey back?

  8. ben says:

    natalie do u really see mcdyess coming back tho? or is it even true that they are gunna buy his contract out or is that just a rumor?

  9. The Fluidics says:

    Dyess wants to play here, so if it’s up to him, he’ll be back. Will Denver buy out his contract and release him? That depends on how much they want to get rid of AI.

  10. Richie says:

    Ugh, my head is spinning over this deal. I could complain because my favorite point gaurd is leaving. I really feel bad for Chauncey after he did so much for us and had such fantastic chemistry with the team. I could complain that AI has a history of being selfish and he’s past his prime etc. I’m also curious why we’re making a trade when everything about the team is flowing so well right now.
    I’ll try to look on the bright side though. A. We’re getting McDyess back, which is huge. It’s questionable whether AI for Chauncey was fair, but giving up McDyess just for cap space would have been ludacris. I think one of the huge benifits nobody’s mentioned yet is the 30 days we’ll have to go without Antonio. He’ll get all of November (at least 14 games) off. That’s major rest, and this is the perfect time for it. He’ll come into the season about a quarter of the way with those knees well rested and his body ready to give us a big boost in December. The other side of that coin means that the rest of the bench will get more minutes and more opportunities to play through their mistakes and give Curry an idea of what he has to work with. I’m a HUGE fan of Chauney Billups, and I’ll miss him a LOT, but I’m trying to stay optomistic. Hold on, fellow fans- we’re in for a rocky ride.

  11. The Fluidics says:

    This move isn’t about Chauncey (who doesn’t hate playing in his home town) or about AI, it’s about the cap money opening up from Iverson and Wallace at the end of the season. It puts Detroit in a huge leverage position come the off season. Picture it, Detroit will have the cap space for TWO max deals. If you hold off until 2010? There are a whole lot of all-stars available, and you have the cap space to sign any of them. Steve Nash? yep. LeBron James? yep. Carlos Boozer? yep. Yao Ming? yep.

    This is a brilliant move for the future, and really, Pistons had nothing to lose. If AI works out, fantastic. If not? He’s off the books at the end of the year.

  12. Fariduddin says:

    this is really hard. i’m a huge billups fan, but i’m a piston fan first. i have to say i agree with the notion that this deal was done for cap room and being able to pick up a solid free agent… however, i also think that we are influenced by the growing tide in the NBA of the need for at least one super star. great deal, but its bitter sweet! i have to convey that Iverson goes hard as hell every game and plays with passion… and when we need buckets he can provide in that department.

  13. derrick says:

    like most everyone i feel mixed about it. I knew that things needed to be shaken up, but im scared now that things did. The cap space is fantastic. Dyess back is great. I will miss samb, there was so much potential but too much depth. Im guessing we lose both players for tonight. What’s the lineup and when do we get iverson? (who will be wearing a new number)

  14. Justin says:

    Just heard on DFN Matt Dery say that tomorrow afternoon at 3:30 p.m. there is a press conference scheduled to introduce AI.

  15. mobius909 says:

    i was more upset about losing dyess than billups. this does improve our team, our speed and our desire. well done joe.

    i would love to see boozer in a pistons uniform with maxx. that’s scary!!!

    so how does this work out on stucky’s minutes… ai and rip both can play an entire game. i hear tay is going to run the point.

  16. mobius909 says:

    fyi we have the fastest backcourt in the league now.

  17. gMac says:

    Why would Dyess come back though?! This team has disappointed him with the no show in playoffs. Wouldn’t he want to sign with the lakers, rockets, hornets or even the Celtics? I think Rockets and Hornets all have money and need for Dycess.

  18. The Fluidics says:

    Dyess has said he doesn’t want to move around chasing the ring. He’ll either win it here, or retire. Don’t expect him to wear a baby blue jersey.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM