McDyess Had Surgery

Posted · 14 Comments

“Pistons forward Antonio McDyess returned to Detroit on Saturday and had surgery to repair the broken nose he suffered in Game 3 of their playoff series with Philadelphia.

Pistons coach Flip Saunders said McDyess’ availability for Sunday’s Game 4 would depend on how he felt after surgery. McDyess was injured Friday in the third quarter of Detroit’s 95-75 loss to the 76ers.” Via Yahoo.com

If the doctors give him the go ahead, you can bet that Dyess will be out there mask and all.

Thanks for Team Need4Sheed member Pistonsgirl for informing us in the comments.

14 Responses to "McDyess Had Surgery"
  1. amer-ican prince says:

    Sad about Dyess, hope he’s okay and ends up wearing one of rip’s masks, headband and all. That would be fun to see.

    In fact they should all wear it next game, be like the Jabbawokkies off of America’s Best Dance Crew. That would liven things up a bit. And show their committment to the team concept. Because let’s face it, the games are just bleeding together for the Pistons, they gotta find things to make each individual game meaningful in some way, cause clearly them saying that they are playin for the “ship” has simply become the only acceptable thing they can say. It’s become a stock answer rather than something they actually want. I mean Carl Landry in Houston lost a tooth trying to win a game, when was the last time you saw any of these guys, other than dyess and his broken nose, even get on the floor for a loose ball?

    I want to see this team become a better passing team. They’ve always been high assist, but they haven’t been great passers for a long time. They hesitate too much when they wanna pass.

    I can’t believe how there is not a single bit of celebration in their eyes when they make a play. How can they say they represent the “going to work” mantra There are guys who make a lot less money in less than desirable jobs and do it with heart. They just don’t celebrate with each other anymore. I think they are secretly happy that their season might end early so they can relax.

    Get well Dyess. We need you a lot. And maybe (hopefully)your teammates will use this as fuel on the fire, maybe this is what the Pistons need to wake them up.

  2. Amber says:

    Lol Amer-ican Prince. I was thinking they should all wear masks…but just because I was concerned for their safety. I didn’t even think about the Jabbawockeez, that’s cute.

    I’m so glad Dice finally got the surgery. I was quite restless and annoyed watching him on the bench, when I was cerain that he should be getting his nose fixed.

  3. ric says:

    tomorrow will be the 1/2 (half) moment of truth….if they win, thats half, they can earn the other half by winning game 5 at home. from there on, we might have hopes of them winning game 6 to close it out.

  4. Nate says:

    “They’re facing not only extinction in this series, but perhaps the final curtain on the winningest era in Pistons’ history.” – Chris McCosky, Detroit News

    Okay, that depressed the hell out of me. Flip needs to print that on a big sign and hang it in the Pistons locker room. If that doesn’t give your fire or rattle your nerves, I don’t know what would.

    Go Pistons.

    -Nate

  5. xXxRiPHammyxXx says:

    I think a shot in the arm of Amir Johnson is something this team seriously needs.

  6. Dominic says:

    Ok the Amir bandwagon was fun and all during the regular season but this is the playoffs. If we win game 4 and 5 it’ll be because of the starters and Jason Maxiell/ Rodney Stuckey. Not becuase of the 5th Big man off the bench

    No offense. I just want us to be real about this

  7. xXxRiPHammyxXx says:

    LOL, the starters/Jason/Stuck have us in a real great position.

  8. ric says:

    hey guys, if pistons lose the game tomorrow heres what you should see/hear on the news.

    “dyess was a big part of our team, he’s presence on the court would’ve been a big difference, we definitely would’ve played better and won the game” billups said

    “dyess brings energy to this team and certainly would’ve helped us in this game” wallace added

    “dyess add a lot to his team, but its no excuse we lost this game if only my lazy ass, effortless and useless backcourt partner showed a little effort and compassion it would’ve made this game a lot easier” said hamilton

    “dyess was huge and its a big lost not to have him, but rasheed should’ve played harder. a little less bitching would’ve made a difference tonight. sheed needs to just shut the f*** up and play hard” maxiell said

  9. np4500 says:

    nate that quote makes me want to cry
    WHYY PISTONS WHY
    JUST WIN THE CHAMPIONSHIP AND SILENCE THE DAMN MEDIA who keeps saying the pistons are donee therr over
    plz just win!

    ill pray for them

  10. downtown says:

    Somebody tell McCosky there is no such a word as ‘winningest’

  11. ric says:

    np4500….im just curious, if u don’t mind..what would u ask/pray for the pistons???? other than miracle….limiting the turnover would definitely be one of them.

  12. Nat_Turner_Wit_Tha_Burner says:

    I’m gonna start a website called fireflipsaunders.org look out for it. LOL

  13. Detroit 2hot 2 handle says:

    The man has so much heart, and some teammates play like they don’t really care anymore.

    If so, let the bench players start the game, atleast they’re hungry, and they will get some “playoff experience”. I can’t believe I’m saying this in April.

    Is this a dream?!

  14. Eric says:

    THAT’S WHAT I’M TALKING ABOUT! COME ON!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM