Pistons lose in Washsington

Posted · 6 Comments

The Pistons lost their second straight game Sunday night in Washington 95-83. Detroit hadn’t played since their loss to Cleveland three days earlier, but they played like they were on the second game of a back to back in DC. The Wizards came out and played this one like their season depended on it. Each game is crucial for The Wizards to ensure a playoff spot. After the win against Detroit, Washington now holds a 1 1/2 game lead on Philadelphia and Toronto for the fifth playoff spot in the Eastern Conference.

Key Points:

  • The offense was surley not flowing, but Detroit’s defense looked less than stellar as they allowed Washington to score 50 points in the paint.
  • The Wizards played without Gilbert Arenas who was possibly going to make his return Sunday night, but was held back by team doctors and clearly upset about not making his debut against the Pistons on National Television.
  • Early foul trouble for Rasheed led to a very early Amir Johnson sighting. He played six first quarter minutes, scored 2 points with a steal and committed 2 fouls. Amir saw no second half action.
  • I felt the same way while watching the game too.
Courtesy of The Detroit Pistons and myTV20 Detroit
  • First of 5 games in 7 nights with a game at home against Phoenix tonight.
  • Still trying for their 50th win.
  • The Pistons shot just 43% on the night, they had plenty of wide open looks that wouldn’t go down.
  • Sheed’s 11th tech of the season. It clearly was a foul, but a tech? I guess however if you give one to Stackhouse for pushing Ginobili’s face into the floor Sheed’s little push qualifies, though it was very marginal.
  • “He gave me a tech saying I shucked him,” Wallace said. “So I knew that was some (baloney).” Via The Detroit News
  • The Wizards got solid games from Jamison, Butler and Haywood.
  • Another lackluster performance for the Pistons, who have a tough stretch ahead. They are locked into a playoff spot, but we would like for them to be playing solid ball headed into the playoffs.
  • Richard Hamilton led the Pistons with 19 points, all of them scored before the third quarter ended. Rip added 5 boards and 2 assists and played the most minutes of any player for either team with 42.
Rip Hamilton
Photo/Getty Images
  • Anyone notice that Rasheed didn’t play the last few minutes of the game and was sitting when the game was being decided?
  • The Pistons could have really used a solid game from Rasheed, who was 3 for 12 on the night. His only field goals came from three consecutive shots from beyond the arc in the third.
  • Rebound war won 39-33.
  • Rodney Stuckey got the bulk of the bench minutes, in fact he was out there when the buzzer sounded. He had 8 points on 3-for-6 shooting with 1 assist and 2 steals.
  • The Wizards got pretty much every shot they wanted and made it look easy.
  • Flip Saunders doesn’t want to rest key players for the final games of the season.
  • This came after Sheed knocked down a few threes and this put the Pistons within three points in the third quarter.
Courtesy of The Detroit Pistons and myTV20 Detroit
  • “We were running stuff pretty much to get some movement and whatnot and not have guys standing around,” Prince said. “Usually in crucial situations in a game we go to our bread and butter plays, but we didn’t run no plays tonight at all, really, something that we do on a regular basis.” Via The Detroit News
  • Jarvis Hayes, who was 3-for-9 for 7 points against his former team, admittedly commented that the Pistons didn’t have much energy in his post game interview. If you look closely behind Jarvis you can see Jordan Dumars lurking in the background.
  • NBA.com Highlights of The Game.
  • Nothing looked like it was flowing for the Pistons whatsoever. Maxiell and the rest of the Zoo Crew could not provide a spark.
  • Antonio McDyess continues to grab boards with 14.
  • Tayshaun Prince put up 13 points on 6-for-10 shooting with 3 assists and 3 boards. I would have liked to have seen the Pistons go to him a bit more since he seemed like the only Pistons that was having any luck knocking down shots.
Tayshaun Prince
Photo/Getty Images
  • Pistons fans can thank Isiah Thomas for Tayshaun Prince.
  • Chauncey, who scored 11 points, took just 9 shots and most of them came late in the game. When Chauncey is clamoring to get involved late in the game it usually doesn’t end well.
  • Team Need4Sheed member Junior made his own Amazing Happens video.
  • I feel the same way about writing this recap as the Pistons probably did on court last night, uninspired with no energy.
  • 22 bench points.
  • Phoenix tonight at the Palace. They will be looking for a beat down after what the Pistons did to them a few weeks back.
6 Responses to "Pistons lose in Washsington"
  1. Steve says:

    Once again im gettin used to saying this.. HORRIBLE GAME..HORRIBLE COACHING..We need a player to take charge of a game by himself if others r not willing to make a shot..PAY ME HALF OF WHAT THEY MAKE ILL MAKE A GODDAMN FREETHROW OR A JUMP SHOT PLEASE IM BROKE! i dont get it they wont win the ship this yr they r to inconsistant and get scared against rivals..o well 7 days till opening day..miggie cabrera ohh boy!

  2. claire says:

    I just wanna fast forward to the playoffs. I feel that at this point, everything has been said and done: “no complacency,” “resting starters,” “lack of energy,” etc etc. All that’s left is for the Pistons to show their pride and themselves in the playoffs.

    Btw, how does everyone feel about us may or may not meet the Cavs in the Playoffs this year?

    My ideal Pistons playoffs opponents are these teams: Bulls in the first round, Cavs in the second round, Celtics in the ECF, Spurs in the Finals. I hate all of those teams, and if the Pistons can beat them all in a single Playoffs run, then oh man, it’ll be so sweet. I can already imagine the Hater Meter going through the roof!

  3. Scott says:

    I just get worried that we are falling into the trap we have the last few seasons and think we can turn on a switch and start winning. Sure, that will work in the first round, but the lackluster effort now could come back to haunt us come the Magic or Celtics.

    sportsandstuffonline.com

  4. Richard says:

    i agree claire, lets get to the playoffs. theres a lot of simple things that i don’t understand why our guys can’t be consistent. things that a non-winning teams are even capable of. the one thing i notice on a lot of the games including clev and washington is that when we push the ball for a fast break, everything works out well except the problem is on our defensive end. i think we need to push the ball more when we get a stop or a turnover and not slow down just like what chauncey likes and has been doing. when rip and stuckey has the ball they push it. i know chauncey did that as one point last night, but he got called for an offensive foul. horrible decision thats unusual.

  5. gMac says:

    Yet, another horrible game.
    I just don’t get Flip. Remember larry brown used to call those time outs and ask out guys do nothing but to get to the rim?
    My 3 Major questions never got answered since we had Flip as a coach.
    1. Why doesn’t Tay go to the hole more often? Why can he post up like sheed as a consistance weapon for us?
    2. Since when is Dyce only a jump shooter. Last time I checked, he’s got really nice post moves and great foot works. I’m sick of him only taking jumpers even though they are open jumpers. That said, his energy for rebound is always great!
    3. I understand we are a veteran team, we play smart. Chauncy likes to get the pick and force the switch and post up the mismatch… But why don’t we run some simple pick-n-roll offence?!! Tell me what Tony Parker+Duncun do Chauncy and Sheed can’t match?? I don’t care what kind of shitty offence Flip runs, all we get are just jumpers after jumpers…

    Lastly, I’m pretty sure come playoff , Flip is not going to play Stuckey much. And he’s just not that ready yet. I say, we play Affalo more, he’s a solid defender and doesn’t have as many metal mistakes as Stuckey.

    I’m not that worried though. But look at all the other teams. They have people who can finish. We pretty much have jump shooters. The game changed so much since we won the ship. These superstars are all getting those pussy calls to the basket… It makes me sick, especially seeing how physical and fun the NCAA is going on now.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM