Stuckey out for Six Weeks

Posted · 13 Comments

“Pistons rookie guard Rodney Stuckey will be out for at least six weeks after undergoing successful surgery Thursday to repair his fractured left (non-shooting) hand.

The operation was performed by Dr. John Wagner at Oakland Regional Hospital. Via The Detroit News

Thanks to Thomas L. for the quick link.

13 Responses to "Stuckey out for Six Weeks"
  1. Anonymous says:

    This absolutely sucks. I thought last nights game was really impressive. EVERYBODY played well, especailly Rodney. I think the pistons would be more excited for the regular season to start if last nights tradgety wouldn’t of happened. It didn’t seem like he broke it. The replay just should him all of a sudden hold his hand. I feel bad for him….get well soon!

    Oh, and Sheed did amazing last night. Imagine what his stats are going to be like playing 35 minutes instead of the 20.

    #1 pistons fan from West Bloomfield!

  2. Anonymous says:

    damn

  3. Anonymous says:

    Its okaii piistons fanns we could stiill do thiis alriight…he wiill be bak and of course we wiill be in the playoffs before we know it and wiill wiin the whole chsmpiionshiip!!!!! becuz its all about Detroiittttt Basketballlll!!!!!!!! Lets juz make sure that he comes bak earliier and he wiill be okaii!!!!!

  4. Anonymous says:

    never thought I’d say this, but thank god for Flip Murray.

  5. Steven M. says:

    I’m a tad worried about the injury of Rodney Stuckey. I’m sure that Flip Murray can handle his own and Lindsey Hunter will provide great experience during the season. Fortunately, the Pistons also have another stand out in Jarvis Hayes. The 4 year veteran has a great looking shot and can drain a lot of shots from downtown.
    Yes, the loss of Rodney Stuckey is very very unfortunate, but as one player drops down, another player will step up into his own. Everyone also has to remember the return of Rip Hamilton on Nov. 1 for the season opener. Its a long season Piston fans, Rodney Stuckey will be back..

  6. Anonymous says:

    yea he wiill be bak and we know we are better than the cavs and the bulls there is no way they wiill get past us, so we have to know that we are stiill the best in the east and that we really are and that there are no doubts at alllll none whatso ever becuz i know it is STIILLL AND WIILL ALWAYS BE DETROIITTT BASKETBALL FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!! CAVALIERS NO CHANCE AND BULLS NO CHANCE!!!!!!!
    DETROIIIIIIITTTTTTTT BASKETBALLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. jess says:

    That really does suck. I just hope he gets better sooner than later and maybe he’ll be back before we know it. :(

  8. Anonymous says:

    Great news! Young guy that wants to play, he’ll bounce right back.
    Jarvis is thriving because of the atmosphere in Detroit. Agent 0 is a selfish obnoxious ball hog.

    Why the hell is that dirty Bowen ahead of Sheed as Defense Player of the Year? Spur’s win last year is suspect at most because of the way that gambling ref called those games.

    Sheed and Tayshaun and even Big Ben has NEVER kneed anyone in their balls when they play defense nor has anyone ever gotten seriously hurt. Bowen needs to a taste of his own dirty medicine.

  9. jess says:

    IM SURE NONE OF US ARE SURPRISED!!!

    “Commissioner David Stern says more than half of referees violated gambling policies.”

    HERES THE LINK
    http://sports.yahoo.com/nba/news?slug=ap-sternspeaks&prov=ap&type=lgns

  10. Anonymous says:

    ya but those violations were due to stupid rules set by David Stern that he will be changing. The rules they violated were gambling in casinos in the offseason and small stuff like that. donaghys was hopefully an isolated case. These violations have nothing to do with betting and fixing games. sure refs make a lot of calls we dont agree with, like the many techs that sheed gets. but that doesnt mean they’re all involved in the mob like donaghy was.

  11. jess says:

    I know but when I read the heading I was so interested in reading it and I thought all of would be too so I kept it interesting *LOL*. I was thinking it was going to be about the betting and fixing games.

  12. dirge says:

    Well, lets look at the plus side.

    If you’re going to suffer an injury, it’s definitely better to face it at the beginning of the season as opposed to the playoffs. Six weeks is a short recovery period following a surgery. Stuckey is young, athletic and healthy. It’s Stuckey’s left hand, not his shooting hand. He’ll probably be able to practice and continue to learn the plays and pace of the NBA.

    I’m very optimistic that Stuckey will be a cornerstone of the Pistons for many years to come. I realize professional basketball is a risky career, one in which players have to be extremely talented and lucky, and they’ll have to contend with injuries, trades, and the duration of their occupation.

    I mean, how many people can plan on retirement in their early thirties? I’m sure many players have a sense of entitlement and a very, very enviable lifestyle that can be… distracting, but I think Stuckey has distanced himself by the way he faced his academic problems, his choice in schools, and the manner in which he plays.

    It’s a broken hand. He’ll be fine. The Pistons will be fine, too.

  13. Amanda says:

    To coin a phrase from like every single Piston player: “It is what it is.”

    I feel bad for Stuckey but I don’t see his injury as having any effect on the Pistons’ season. Neither does Keith Langlois:
    http://www.nba.com/pistons/news/langlois_blog_071025.html

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM