Rasheed Can Breathe Easy: NBA Referee Joe Crawford Suspended Indefinitely

Posted · 29 Comments

“NBA referee Joey Crawford has been indefinitely suspended for improper conduct toward Tim Duncan during the San Antonio Spurs at Dallas Mavericks game on April 15, it was announced today by NBA Commissioner David Stern. The conduct included Crawford’s assessment of a second technical foul and ejection of Duncan following laughter by the player while he was seated on the bench, and inappropriate comments made to Duncan during the game.

Crawford’s suspension will cover at least the remainder of the 2006-07 season, including the NBA Playoffs and Finals.” NBA.com

They finally got something right.

29 Responses to "Rasheed Can Breathe Easy: NBA Referee Joe Crawford Suspended Indefinitely"
  1. Anonymous says:

    haha i think that shit is so funny, i saw it on abc and it was so ridiculous, ejecting tim like that? it was embarassing and then challenging tim to fight haha

  2. Anonymous says:

    spell check title nat.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thank goodness. I’ve hated Joey Crawford for years. He thinks he’s above the game. He has an enormous ego, and tries to inflict his will upon the game unnecessarily. Plus, he hates the Pistons. The playoffs will be better off without him this year. He’s taken the new rules on liberally handing out technicals way too far.

    -Eric

  4. Al James says:

    I doubt that this means he’ll miss officiating the playoffs. Although I’m sure Rasheed will have no contest to that.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Wow that is funny… anyone know the comments he made to Duncan?

    Take it easy on Natalie for spelling everyone makes mistakes and probably she is in a rush trying to get things posted. (got ur back Nat)

  6. Anonymous says:

    I hope this sends a message to all those shit head refs that if you try to call the game a certain way and you are so noticeably obnoxious about it, your job will be on the line no matter how many years you worked.
    Unfortunately, it takes Tim Duncan to call this asshole out. If it was Sheed, a little column buried somewhere.

  7. Anonymous says:

    al james – it does mean he’s gone for the playoffs. that’s what nba.com says, so he’s gone for the ENTIRE season, wooo
    as for the last person who posted, i agree! it HAS happened 2 sheed before, getting a tech for laughin, no one gave a shit

  8. jessica says:

    Im soo happy about that.. I had just read about and I got soooo happy!!

  9. Anonymous says:

    Danny Crawford should be ejected instead.

    I know I heard some crazy stat somewhere that we lose more with Danny reffing and win more with Joey.

    Either way:

    Fuck the refs.

  10. Anonymous says:

    i hate joe crawford, haha sheed will love that shit

  11. Anonymous says:

    could someone please tell me exactly what happened.. or is there an article i can read somewhere?? cause i dont like this guy much either lol and i sure as hell would LOVE to hear how he got suspended !

    but i doo remember sheed laughing and receiving a tech and i was TOOO mad i couldnt believe he had just gotten a tech for that!! guess the as*hole ref had what was coming to himmm haaahhhh!

  12. Natalie says:

    Thanks for telling me about spelling, I was in quite a hurry..

    Funny Do you think if it was Rasheed that he would have been suspended in the first place?

  13. Anonymous says:

    Crawford ejected Duncan from San Antonio’s loss after calling a second technical foul on the Spurs star while he was laughing on the bench.

    “He looked at me and said, ‘Do you want to fight? Do you want to fight?”‘ Duncan said. “If he wants to fight, we can fight. I don’t have any problem with him, but we can do it if he wants to. I have no reason why in the middle of a game he would yell at me, ‘Do you want to fight?”‘

    ^^ hahhh crawford might as well quit !!

  14. Anonymous says:

    wow he really said that?!!!! I wish that was the pistons sheed would actually knock the shit out of him !! =]

  15. Anonymous says:

    geezzz it seems like some refs just give out techs to ppl who annoy them or to the team they’re not in favor of..

    if thats the case then im about to become a ref to make the big $ cause that doesnt sound too hard to me.. its a problem that needs to be fixed..and looks like it has FINALLY started :]

    thats what ya get crawwwwwfordddd !!

    no disrespectin sheeeeddd just cause he actually has FUN playing the sport he loves !

  16. Cole says:

    i thought dan crawford was more a pain in sheed’s ass, hell even the folks at tnt have said before, ‘sheed’s arch nemesis, danny crawford…’

    either way the refs all need to take some sort of anger management classes, that or get over themselves

  17. sam says:

    I agree with the comment about Dan Crawford, if you haven’t noticed how he officiates with the ‘stones I found this old Oakland Press article (even they could tell!) http://www.theoaklandpress.com/stories/061405/pro_20050614012.shtml

  18. Amber says:

    NEXT…..STEVE JAVIE!!

  19. Anonymous says:

    Wow I guess it just needed for somone who doesn;t get too many techs and is a quite player for someone one to notice. I have to say it took fare too long but I am happy this finally happened. I wonder if it had anything to do with the playoffs coming soon and David didn’t want to see things get out out hand as they have this season. This must be sterns way of trying to fix the problem since he will not say there was one.

  20. Anonymous says:

    he just doesn’t need to come out in the game with a chip on his shoulder. I don’t know what kinda baggage this guy is carrying, but it seems to show up in his officiating. Call the game fair Joey and stop letting little things distract you from your job. I say the same thing about the players constantly nagging about call. Just let it go and play the game. He gave Tim his second technical which pretty much caused them the game. In a situation like that the refs have to know how to take pressure because the players are under just as much pressure as well. Its sad this had to happen to him, but maybe he’ll know next time. I mean all Tim was doing was laughing.

  21. Anonymous says:

    ^^and all sheed was diong was laughing too.. completely harmless no aggressiveness or yelling which is what technical fouls are supposed to be for to begin with

    like sheed said.. they didnt like it when he was mad and they obviously didnt like it when he was happy so he doesnt know how to act now.. but i like that he just stays classic SHEED :]

  22. Amanda says:

    What was Duncan laughing at? Was he laughing about getting the 1st tech? I don’t think that warrants an ejection but if he was laughing at Crawford I can see why he was hit with one. ‘Sheed on the other hand was laughing because a player (Iguodala?) knocked him down to the floor. His yucks were in no way directed toward the ref who T’d him up. That’s what makes ‘Sheed’s tech funnier and more controversial. ‘Sheed just doesn’t have that good-nature aura or “stuperstar” status that Duncan has so no real action was taken against the official.

    Anybody remember what ref gave ‘Sheed that tech?

  23. Anonymous says:

    Just posting this here since I don’t know where else to, but is it me, or is there no way to get the the need4sheed shop/store anymore? I can’t find a link!

  24. Anonymous says:

    does anyone know if there was a nazr chant at tonights game cause he played .. finally :]

  25. jessica says:

    ^^Nat’s workin on the whole store thing…

    and for the one above the above (LOL) Duncan was laughing while he was on the bench about another call he didnt agree with on the spurs.

  26. Natalie says:

    Just posting this here since I don’t know where else to, but is it me, or is there no way to get the the need4sheed shop/store anymore? I can’t find a link!

    Jessica is right, having issues with the Shirts hope to get things straightened out soon. Will defiantly post about it as soon as things are final.

  27. UtesFan89 says:

    I’m a long time reader, first time poster here. Being a Jazz fan and not a Pistons one, I never really had much to say. My only relation to the Pistons is that I have friends in Detroit that are Pistons fans…
    Anyhow, I’m guessing based on the title of the post that Crawford isn’t a good friend of ‘Sheeds.
    I just have to say though… I think, given that the game was on ABC (national TV, the only game allowed to be on TV at that time) that if it had been Sheed, similar things would have happened. The uproar came from almost everywhere (Dallas seems to be an exception)…
    Does this maybe change the way games are officiated? Like, maybe more fairly and with less favoritism towards the more marketable players?

    By the way… great blog.

  28. Natalie says:

    I’m a long time reader, first time poster here. Being a Jazz fan and not a Pistons one, I never really had much to say. My only relation to the Pistons is that I have friends in Detroit that are Pistons fans…
    Anyhow, I’m guessing based on the title of the post that Crawford isn’t a good friend of ‘Sheeds.
    I just have to say though… I think, given that the game was on ABC (national TV, the only game allowed to be on TV at that time) that if it had been Sheed, similar things would have happened. The uproar came from almost everywhere (Dallas seems to be an exception)…
    Does this maybe change the way games are officiated? Like, maybe more fairly and with less favoritism towards the more marketable players?

    By the way… great blog.

    Thanks Utesfan,
    I do have to say that I think the NBA will look into the matter. They did the right thing by doing what they did but if it had been someone like Sheed the matter wouldn’t be so big, in fact they would probably praise Crawford.

    I think there is defiantly going to be some changes in officiating soon, whether good or bad.

  29. Anonymous says:

    I heard during the pistons game that Joey quite after being told he was out for the season and playoffs. I guess he doesn’t like getting suspended but the players get fare more they get fined every tech and it lead to games with out pay I am sure its fare more out of the players pocket then in Joeys. Anyway I like the post form the jazzsa player but NAt’s right if it had been sheed then nothing would have happened except sheed would have missed his next game.

    Anyway I was not able to make it home for the game tonight but my friend went with my tickets and I have not talked to her yet so did anyone do a chant for Nazr or was he just put in the game? If I had of been I would have.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM