He’s got his own model Nike AF1: How do you NOT know who Rasheed Wallace is?

Posted · 9 Comments

Nike’s Air Force 1 basketball shoe is celebrating its 25th anniversary. To mark the occasion Nike threw a big party in NYC, guest list included Spike Lee, Jadakiss, Jeezy, Ciarra, Paul Pierce, Q. Rich, Patrick Ewing, Queen Latifah and Rasheed Wallace. If you don’t already know the history of the shoe, Air Force 1’s changed the game of basketball.

In 1982, Nike changed the game of basketball by introducing a shoe that literally changed the game. Want to know the real reason those old-school players wore such big, thick socks? It was for cushioning. Pre AF1’s, there was no such thing as shock absorption or arch support. Playing ball was murder on an athlete’s feet. The AF1’s shined a light on Nike’s breakthrough technology — they used the word “air” because that’s what was inside the sole of the sneaker. When Moses Malone became the first unofficial “ambassador” of the sneakers, he didn’t just get some kicks. He got more endurance, more stamina and more support. All thanks to Bruce Kilgore and the rest of Nike’s blossoming Research and Development team. Via Baller Status.com

Since then there have been even more technological advances in the basketball shoe, but our good friend Rasheed Wallace still rocks the AF1’s on court. The shoes have become a cultural phenomenon, with limited editions and classic models, some even selling for thousands of dollars. But that is a whole other story in itself. Sheed has been wearing them for years now, before they became the shoe to be seen in. Rasheed wears them simply because he’s old school. He even has his own model the AF1 Sheed, but come to find out most people wearing them have no idea who Rasheed Wallace actually is. Sad isn’t it.


For the silver anniversary of the Air Force Ones, Nike has assembled the “New Six” team to represent the best selling Nike shoe. The “New Six” team includes the top NBA players currently signed to Nike Basketball including; Kobe Bryant, LeBron James, Rasheed Wallace, Vince Carter, Amare Stoudemire, and Tony Parker. Via NiceKicks.com

9 Responses to "He’s got his own model Nike AF1: How do you NOT know who Rasheed Wallace is?"
  1. Junior says:

    WOW!! What a great post!! This shoe really is the greatest shoe ever. Highs mids or lows, it is the 1st shoe I look for in stores. Even if I’m just looking. However the best ones are found online. Baller or not if you haven’t ever wore a pair I suggest you get you one. Not only for the comfort, but your style points will go through the roof. They have a style for everyone. Give me 2 pair.

  2. Anonymous says:

    wow I can;t believe that is ture. I am happy however he has keep to the shoe it is a good shoe.

  3. Big_Ben says:

    great post Nat!

  4. Natalie says:

    I must admit, I have a pair of Sheeds prominently displayed with the rest of my Pistons memorabilia. If only they where signed by the man himself.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Those new Sheeds ARE SICKKKKKKKKKKKKKK

  6. Anonymous says:

    the af1s that rasheed actually wears on the court are not the same as the ones you buy in stores

    sheed got layers of zoom air in them

  7. Anonymous says:

    can you buy that last pair of shoes in stores?

  8. Anonymous says:


    sheed got layers of zoom air in them”

    This is incorrect. Sheed has been quoted as saying there is nothing extra in his.

  9. Anonymous says:

    yea i got 2 new pair of the shedds!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Indiana
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Orlando
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Houston
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Miami
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Denver
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Chicago
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Washington
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM