Fair? It’s hard to say.

Posted · 4 Comments


Much has been said about the Zero Tolerance Technical foul rule and many of you already know that I have started a petition to save Sheed. I would like to state by no means am I trying to say that the players should be able to say what they please but after watching this weekend’s games, I absolutely stand by the petition and what it stands for even more.

During Saturday night’s Suns – Clippers game I watched Nash and Cassell go at the refs and nothing happened to either of them. Then during the Spurs – Raptors game, Tim Duncan was allowed to flail his arms around when he thought a foul was called against him and no tech was assessed. I happen to like both Nash and Duncan but are they getting special treatment? This is precisely the reason that there is a problem with the way the rule is being enforced. I am quite sure that what Duncan, Cassell or Nash did during those games would have resulted in a technical foul had Rasheed done the same thing.

During the Celtics – Pistons game Friday night Wally Szczerbiak immediately got a tech when he emotionally reacted to a foul that was called against him. I wonder if that call would have went the same way had the Celtics been playing another team besides Detroit.

Sure this is an adjustment for everyone and the players will learn to deal with the way it’s being called but what does someone like Sheed do when the line is drawn a little differently for him?

FSN Detroit did a segment on the new rule and Hunter, Billups, and Saunders had a few things to say. Billups said this in response to Sheed and the new rule.

“He listens but it’s instincts, I can tell you anything I want but if it’s your instinct you’re going to revert back to it. I can talk as much as I want, you all can write as much as you all want but at the end of the day it,s instinct and it’s tough to change instincts man.”

So if you are one of the many who believe that the rule is not perfect and some players will be punished while others won’t, feel free to read over the petition and sign it.

If you would like to spread the word here is the link to the petition.

http://www.need4sheed.com/savesheed.html

Video courtesy of FSN Detroit
4 Responses to "Fair? It’s hard to say."
  1. Anonymous says:

    Awesome points natalie! I agree with it.. and thats a good point to bring up.. its not the fact that the rule is the “zero-tolernce” rule.. its how its being enforced.. Its unfair and not justified.. You should rewrite Mr. Zaret and explain what you feel.. he might have something else to say about that.. :)

    -Detroitbball

  2. Anonymous says:

    wow I didn´t seen the ejection of Rasheed. It´s any possibility to get that video I would like to have it in the PC thanks let me know

  3. Anonymous says:

    On the clip it says that the rule is not to tragit on player but what I have seen this fare from the season sheed has been the tragit. He is avg one tech per game with getting 2 in the first game and one in the 3rd game. Correct me if I am wrong but he is the only player who is avg. that this season. With they it is going be will have a tech everygame.

    I think this rule should be used right and the officals should not get to decided when to use it. I really like the point you brought up.

  4. Anonymous says:

    It’s not consistant enough to be a rule, once again David stern is a fag!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM