Cavs PA Announcer Fires Back After Getting The Boot

Posted · 12 Comments

Ronnie Duncan the Cavaliers PA announcers contract was not renewed for this season and he’s firing back at Dan Gilbert and the Cavs Organization. He’s upset about losing his job and he can’t understand why Cavs broadcaster Michael Reghi was fired and replaced with Pistons broadcaster Fred Mcloud.

Well we all know that Dan has been trying to turn the Cavs into the Pistons. I even counted some of the similarities last season, but Duncan is actually telling us that Gilbert himself tried making him into a mini John Mason.

“They made me a robot,” Duncan said. “Dan (Gilbert) would interject things during the games, like ‘Cleveland basketball’ (sung to the tune of ‘Detroit basketball,’ which was Mason’s signature call). They wanted Mason. Maybe Dan should have bought the Detroit Pistons.”

What’s next Dan are you going to try to get “the kid” to relocate? Or are you going to start airing episodes of the Interplanetary Cavaliers?

12 Responses to "Cavs PA Announcer Fires Back After Getting The Boot"
  1. Anonymous says:

    lmao that so priceless


  2. Junior says:

    Gilbert needs to chill out and get off our nutz a little. I mean I understand following our blueprints cause we set the bar, but damn dude “cleeeeveland basketballlll”? Try to hire someone with a little creativity and get your own shit.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Man made his money from loans and accounting. Boring numbers man and come on, people, it’s Cleveland. You really think anything interesting happens there????

    What the hell is pencil neck wearing Sheed’s number for anyway???

  4. Anonymous says:


  5. Anonymous says:

    Detroit Michigan starts everything and everyone copies there style!

  6. Nate says:

    Dang, I didn’t know Fred Mcloed left Fox Sports Detroit. I kinda liked him, he actually got emotionally involved during the games. Announcing Cleveland games now? He better get used to saying Lebron…Lebron…Lebron.

    Cleveland was looking bad by copying Detroit, from player intro’s to in game sayings. Miami has a crappy PA announcer too…everyone wants to be John Mason!


  7. Lisa says:

    It’s ovbiously a classic Photoshop pic, he really isn’t wearing a Sheed jersey.

    You know Natalie would make it a SHeed jersey.

  8. Where's Bobby Higginson? says:

    They may be trying to copy, but their moves all suck.
    Danny Ferry as former player turned executive. Was Craig Ehlo not available?
    Mike Brown as Carlisle-esque former Indiana assistant. Will be fired after season.
    Fred McLeod as voice of team. Will be nothing without Special K’s Xs and O’s knowledge and will forever be in Blaha’s shadow.
    Prudently sign free agents that fit your tough mentality. Need a point guard? How about we sign Damon Jones for $30 mil? I heard he can’t dribble, play defense or make a three with a hand in his face. Perfect.

  9. Scott says:

    Ya know…I was talking to Mason about this at the charity golf outing (the similarities between my experiences at both the Q and the Palace). He is friends w/ Ronnie Duncan and told me that the owner was trying to make him act like Mason. If you can’t beat the Pistons…act like ’em, I guess.

  10. Scott says:

    Oh yeah…he also gave us a little idea of how he’s gonna announce our new center…fun stuff! 😀

  11. Anonymous says:

    Gilbert is originally from Detroit area and tried to buy the Pistons. Bill D. said no, so he bought Cleveland instead. I guess he wants the Cavs to remind him more of his home team.

  12. cochise says:

    Anyone remember when Cleveland tried to break Detroit’s record for most wigs in a stadium?

    Eventually he is going to have to stop obsessing over us and be original.

    (I wouldn’t mind having more PA announcers like Mason though. Some of the other guys really suck. I.E. Spurs PA guy.)

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment


2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM